Cali Viejo Colombian Breakfast

Today I wanted to try Cali Viejo again. It’s been awhile since they changed their menu and split breakfast and dinner meals. I used to order this great soup with plantains and rice for brunch, which they now serve only in the afternoon. I was upset about that. Now they have added many more simple selections to their menu which was heavily ethnic before. I like beans and rice for breakfast but my husband likes a typical American style one. Today he ordered a cheese cuban sandwich with fries, me a Louis special. The fries were crispy and seasoned which were still ok, my favorites are crinkly golden ones like the old school diners serve. I happen to love eggs fried with golden lacy edges. My Mother made them that way and I love the taste of the crispy edge with the soft middle. That’s just me, my husband thinks that’s over cooking. Anyway, all in all it was a satisfying breakfast.
What I love about this restaurant is the feeling. It takes you somewhere else. I feel like I’m in a different country. The breads and pastries in the glass case hit you with that wonderful sweet bakery smell as soon as you enter, unlike any place else in Brandon. I’m not  sure if the wait staff are all Colombian but they are all dark-haired beautiful women, (when I’ve been there anyway) heavy on the accent and well-groomed. The decor is brightly painted with primitive type paintings which I love because it’s so different. They have a big TV in the café, today tuned to the soccer game just like at my Dominican Son-In-Law’s home.  I’m not sure what the combination is, but I feel comfortable and easy in this place even if I don’t understand a word of what’s going on around me. It’s my favorite form of “white noise”! It’s nowhere near perfect, but I really like it. Maybe it’s my own ethnic soul feeling the balm of enjoying the atmosphere and life in general.  The pace is easy and nice, if you’re in a get in and out rush, let them know.
I rate Cali Viejo Morning 81/2 out of 10 on the Brandon Bubble scale.

Cali Veijo Columbian Restaurant

Cali Veijo Columbian Restaurant

Cali Veijo Columbian Restaurant

CaliViejo morning sandwich

Cali Viejo roasting chicken

bread case

Cali Viejo on Urbanspoon

You can get food delivered from these services:
Take out Butler

Printable Menu 

Leave a Reply

